school! (30 by 30ish update)

I’m kind of kicking butt on this list, y’all! An update on that later, but first, I want to share about one bucket list item in particular – I’m a college student again!

For a few years I’ve really wanted to go back to school. I graduated from Ouachita (the best place on earth) in 2007. I loved college – like I still get pretty jealous of the incoming freshmen every year. But I was 18 when I went to OBU and had no clue what I wanted to do with my life. While I’m so grateful for my time there and how God used it to shape me, I didn’t walk away with a clear, defined vision of what I wanted to do with my degree. And that’s totally okay.

I want to work again (eventually). And the more I thought about what I wanted to do, the more I thought about how school would be really helpful in achieving those goals. If I’m afraid I might fail at something, I just don’t try. And that’s not what I want to teach Henry, so I thought the best way to show him that letting your fear hinder you from your goals isn’t a good idea was for me to not let my fear hinder my goals.

So, after talking to Jesse and my parents about it – I just did it! I went to the community college down the street, applied, and signed up for a class! I’m taking college algebra this semester and am really loving it. The advisor suggested I sign up for an integrated class (college prep and college algebra) that goes at a slower pace. I mean, I know it was a good suggestion, but my pride wanted to shout “I took AP in high school!”. But let’s be real, it’s been 14 years since I was in algebra. Putting me in the integrated class was so nice of her.

I’m just over two weeks in. It feels so good to be challenged like this! Of course, I couldn’t even think about this if Jesse wasn’t so encouraging. Or if I didn’t have the support of my mom and dad. And if I didn’t have really generous friends who have offered to watch Henry while I’m in class.

I guess the biggest thing I’ve learned from this 30 by 30ish item is that there’s never a perfect time to do something. Just go out on a limb and give it a go! If we wait for the money, time, and whatever else to do something that could be really good, we’ll never do it! And I think that is the bigger picture of this list for me. I can do more than just sit. I can live intentionally to the glory of the Lord. Just gotta open myself up to let him use me.

my first quiz!

my first quiz!

2 thoughts on “school! (30 by 30ish update)

  1. It’s wonderful to hear your journey back to education (not school!). I too am following another education path towards software, a much more creative path that I wished I had followed earlier. Oh well. Time tells tales. Keep your journey up and keep the writing up! You’ll learn from all that has passed to apply to the future. Stay in touch with friends and family and struggle so you can improve!

Leave a Reply

